Community

I just got back from two days up at the Adobe San Francisco office getting briefed on the upcoming announcements. A good many of my dear friends were there. We shared stories, laughter, and that sense of community that we as humans relish. We toasted to friends who could not join us this time as well. We were among a special extended family. The internet has allowed this extended family to form.

While waiting for my flight home, I saw my friend Eric Meyer’s tweet.

Screen Shot 2014-06-04 at 8.21.09 AM

 

My heart sank. Tears began to fill my eyes as I sat at the gate.

If you are a web designer or developer, you owe a part of your job to the work Eric has done and continues to do to on CSS. I am proud to say I know him. When An Event Apart was in San Diego time before last, I had a chance to take him aboard the USS Midway. We chatted about lots of things, the web, our mutual passion for atomic history, but also family. He spoke of the joy of adopting his children and raising them.

But last summer, their daughter Rebecca became ill. It was soon discovered there were brain tumors. Although they tried everything science could offer, the tumors are about to win. Eric has chronicled their saga, in part as way to remember. You can read it at meyerweb.com

Now, I want to ask my community, my friends, to take a moment and ask themselves how they can make the world a better place. How can I make my community stronger?

Eric mentioned that soon he will have to create a memorial page for his sweet child. I am sure he will include guidance of how we can show our support in her honor. So, please think of the community around you and what you can do. I don’t want this to be a fund raising appeal, but more a call to action. I have seen the power of community, maybe it can offer a beacon of hope and healing.

One comment

  1. I’ve been following their journey since Eric announced it last summer and have been deeply saddened by what Rebecca and her family are going through. I do not know Eric personally but have been learning from him for the past decade and a half. I will be participating in the Kid’s cancer buzz-off this weekend and would like to dedicate it to Rebecca. I trying to figure a good way to do this and to let the Meyer family know that our community stands behind them. Would appreciate any ideas.

Leave a Reply

